Why do all my pictures look grainy?

mareshow

Banned
well i keep taking pictures and playing with setting and they all look the same, grainy and its driving me nuts! i got a D3000 from nikon and i'm using a F1.8 35mm lense what the heck is going on? and how do i fix it? my iso is 3200 or 1600 and yeah argh for once i'd like to take a clear picture!

Boydo

First off I'm no expert with cameras and hopefully Gerry can step in and help further. I think your problem is the high iso boost your using which can add lots of noise to pictures. If you can shoot with an iso of 1000 or less and increase you noise reduction settings you should have better luck. If you shoot with a flash an iso of 200-400 normally work good. However every camera is different. You may need to slow down your shutter speed to make up for the difference.

Keep practicing and adjusting your settings, and you'll get it.

Have a look here for some more info : http://www.aquatic-photography.com/

mareshow

Banned
hmm i'll have to try that, the only problem is the fish move too much but i'll keep trying. I upgraded my camera to a Canon T2i so i'll shoot some video now :D

RTG_Gerry

Super Moderator
Entry level cameras cannot produce decent images with high ISO.

You don't mention what settings you're using or whether you use flash or not.

mareshow

Banned
well i upgraded today to the canon T2i and it has already produced much better pictures all i need is an over head flash and i think i'll be good to go :) i have been suggested to get the 580 but i dont know if i want to spend another $500 any ideas?

RTG_Gerry

Super Moderator
You can look for knock offs on ebay or kijiji. They work almost as well, but most of the knockoffs will only work in manual mode. That's not a bad thing for shooting fish, not such a good thing for shooting portraits of people.

mareshow

Banned