New tank brainstorm project.

bksze

I am currently in the preliminary stage of building a new home. As part of this new home, I will be incorporating a large fish tank. I want to use this thread as a brainstorm thread to help me come up with any ideas.

I've been keeping fish for 10+ years. Went from a betta tank to my current 260gallon. Still learning and open to ideas. Things are constantly changing as well so I don't even know some of the things available to me. So if you have any thoughts or comments, feel free to speak your mind. Or any concerns you came across when doing your project that you would do differently.

I've organized my questions into 3 separate categories.

1. House

- building from scratch so I will ensure the floor is properly reinforced
- located in a non-walkout basement so logistics of getting the tank down there will need to be dealt with
- I will be asking them to rough in plumbing and drain so that I can have a dripless water change system
- If I run a 500+ gallon tank, will I need a dehumidifier down there? How's power consumption for the pumps/filtration aspects?
- What's the cleanest way to light the tank? I was thinking of having a light figure hang from the ceiling that would be connected to a switch on the wall.

2. Tank

- I will be looking at going 500+ gallon acrylic
- dimensions will be normal rectangular, however I don't know exactly what size it will be as I'd like it to sit well within the confines of my new basement
- I won't be building it in wall

3. Stock

- I have a dilemma with stocking issues
- Currently have 24" aro, 10" datnoid, 16" stingray and 9 big loaches
- I plan on selling the datnoid by then
- Ideally I want to have several arowanas. However i don't know how feasible it is for me to find ones of similar size for me to combine in that tank
- Should I sell the current one I have and then start brand new with a bunch of small ones?