help please!!!!

hugh

hello all, first i would like to say that this is a great arowana site. i been following this site for the last few months since i found it.
i have been keeping fish for 8 years now including salt water and a freshwater tank with a green arowana. i recently purchase an RTG and have it in a 150 gallon tank with tinted bare bottom. i bought my light home today and turn it on. the problem is now with the lights on i can see everything. i notice that there are lots of very little worm like white things swimming around on the bottom and on the sides and front of my tank. now i have never seen anything like this before. since my the bottom of my tank is tinted i have notice these little thing swimming around. they are relly small, you have to look very closely to see it. can anyone tell me what it is and is it going to harm my awowana? thanks in advance

senthus

I dont think you have to worry. I think you are referring to Planaria which is caused by uneatten food. They dont hurt your fish but is a sign of over feeding. If you do a google search, you can find out more about them

GRANDDRAGON

All you have to do is feed less and do more water chages and the population of the worms will go down. Hope this helps.

kookus

Yup water changes are the most important. These things from what I understand do not hurt your fish. I would also check your parameters just to see if there are any spikes.

Kenta

Administrator
Yup, sounds like nematodes...

Indicator of overfeeding and insufficient water changes/maintenance.... they are harmless but unsightly, a healthy tank will actually have a couple here and there but a explosion means something is off. More water changes!

hugh