Hi all!

Eddio

I'm a university student studying bioinformatics, from Edmonton, Alberta. Recently put in an order for a Panda Red with Theo. It'll be my family's first asian arowana and we're all very excited about it.

We already got our 110g tank setup and ready to go. Any tips on what I should be doing with it while I wait?

Nice meeting you all and hope I can learn more about this hobby from all you pro's out there! =)

James Sananikone

Welcome Brother, having an aro is very exiting for everyone, I know how anxious you are, I have been there !

To really enjoy the fish ... you have to have a lot of patience and stay with the rule, many new hobbyist scrapped the fish by rushing the process...
Panda is a good bet ... Good luck !!!

carcrazy

I am also still kind of new to aros. What do you mean by rushing and scrapping the fish? I basically treat my aro like any other fish, fed twice a day until he doesn't seem interested in food. I feed him mostly sw and the occasional market shrimp. 30% wc every second or third day in a 320g tank. What else should I be doing? The idea of scrapping a $1200 aro kind of scares me.

carcrazy

I originally had a blue painted background in the 320g for the RTG but some dark algae has grown over it a bit. It hasn't affected the water quality so I don't worry about it too much. The water has stayed nice and clear after I gave it a shot of UV when I first cycled the tank (algae bloom).

The super red will go into a 270g with a blue painted background when he is a little bigger (to join a 12" tin foil barb and a 8" severum). Other tankmates when larger will be 2 motoro rays and 2 florida gars.

Just today I bought a 5" green aro to go into my 165g planted tank. This tank has a black background and has many plants and driftwood. His tankmates are 4 large angels, 2 blue gourami, a small ornate bichir and a small severum (who so far has left the plants alone).

Last edited:

Eddio