New to AC

Hey guys, name's Erratic-Fish-Finatic or EFF for short and I currently live in Mississauga Ontario. I've cared for numerous aros in the past, primary Silver and jardini arowanas. My last arowana ( which was a 15" Silver ) died 2 years when it got spooked by my 2 Oscars chasing eachother and jumped ship if you know what I mean. After that incident I've decided never to keep arowanas again, but just last week I went to Lucky Aquarium in Markham and saw some beautiful reds, chilly reds and RTGs. After seeing them I realized how beautiful these fish can be and decided to purchase one. I'm just getting into keeping Asian aros and thought that a juvenile Banjar red would be a good introduction to the Asian aro scene. This is my first Asian aro that I have owned and hope everyone here can help me out in learning about these marvelous beasts. My Juvie Banjar is currently 4" and is inhabiting a 50 gallon for now, but will be moved into a 150 gallon once he reaches 8"-10". I'm feeding him a strict diet of premium pellets including Hikari floating carnivore sticks, Hikari cichlid gold floating pellets, SERA AROWANA pellets and once a week defrosted whole shrimp ( head and tail removed of course). I don't intent on ever feeding him live feeders from the store because they contain harmful bacteria and growth inhibitors, I'm going to feed him some home bred 1" baby convict cichlids though once every 2 months though. I also have him in a black water setup using SERA black water peat solution at 82d F. So far so good, he's healthy and doesn't have any stress signs, he's also learning to trust me more as I hand feed him at least once a day with the floating sticks.

Last edited:

EEYY

Welcome any arowana keeper in TO.

I can see you are moving up. Your next arowana must be RTG or above.

So far, your preparation sounds okay to me.

tomuhs

Welcome!

Awesome story. So sad to hear about your silver.