What's a good lens for shooting fish and aquariums?

bksze

Planning on picking up a rebel XSI with the basic 18-55mm kit lens. Also was planning on getting a 50mm prime lens. Seems like a pretty good starter kit for me to get into a more advanced level of photography. Any other ideas for a good starter lens? Most people seem to recommend a better wide angle lens like a 10-20mm.

I plan on shooting my fish, my dogs and when I go on vacation if it's not too much hassle, I'll bring along the DSLR. I plan on keeping the compact point and shoot in the wife's purse for all other occasions.

This is coming from a complete newb who's basic understanding of all things camera are from reading articles and reviews on the net.

TIA

chen88

Super Moderator
i have the same camera with the 18-55 lens. I love that camera...BUT Gerry's got some awesome photography skills...he should be the one best answer this question...I can't get the black in my pictures like he does!

RTG_Gerry

Super Moderator
60mm f/2.8. Best lens for shooting almost anything and especially fish.

bksze, what part of the country are you in?

I'm working with Theo to get myself out to the west coast to do a shoot and we were talking about doing a photography clinic.

I'm also doing a clinic for the local aquarium society here in Winterpeg in October, I do believe.

bksze

I'll definitely keep in consideration. I have some leftover giftcards from my wedding so plan to do a little spending on a camera and lens package, however everyone says I should stick with the kit lens and get a feel for the camera before I pick up any new lenses so I may just put that on hold. I am also going to HK in a few weeks and everything seems cheaper electronics wise so may pick up some new lenses for the camera out there.

I live in Cgy so right in the middle of you guys. However I do head out to Vancouver every now and then. Let me know if you do get a clinic up and if I can make it happen, I'd love to attend.