Cycling : how did you do it?

tomuhs

Hi Guys,

Just wondering what you guys did in order to cycle your tank.

As I don't really agree with cycling the tank with "sacrificial" fish, i'll be going the fishless route.

What methods of cycling did you guys use and how long did it take?

I'm thinking of adding pure ammonia or I'm debating whether I should just throw in some shrimp. Also picked up some soaked bacteria induced media; it wasn't refrigerated so i'm wondering whether if this is just a scam to pay more.

In your experiences, what has proven to be more effective?

Thanks for all your input!

AroNoob

I always go fishless using pure ammonia. Works great and you can fully stock once you are done. You can use some old media to speed things up. I usually get a big sponge squeezing from my LFS to get things going. It probably takes me 3 - 4 weeks for a complete fishless cycle.

I've never used soaked bacteria induced media before so I can't comment on it but I would bother with it.

Ron

mitchb

Shrimp will smell when it starts to break down, if you have access to pure ammonia there is no need to do anything else. I used stability and old media and cycled my 180 in about a week n a bit.

Benefit with ammonia is that you can get your ppm to a higher level then with shrimp, without having the awful fish smell taking over.

tomuhs

Thanks a lot! Ya i was kinda leaning away from the shrimp since I'm worried it might breed diseases as well?

Can't seem to find any pure ammonia in this city...lol

Any ideas?

I use my filter sponges and biomax packages from my canister filters when I clean my filter. You could also just empty 25% of the water out of your main tank into your new tank and fill the rest with new water if your running multiple tanks.

mitchb