Tenecor group buy

There looks to be a group buy for Tenecor tanks being organized here.

I plan to order a 670gal from tenecor, and I wonder if the simplicity plus is sufficient to work with 670gal, or do i need to add other filter ontop of it, because it will cost me $1800 US for simplicity plus.

Last edited by a moderator:

Cirrus

Arowana blogger
I've got a lot of experience with Tenecor. I have a simple 550, a marine ready 150, and a simple 50. I've had other Tenecor tanks before too, and am happy with all their products...with just a few qualifications.

First, if you go for a full stand and canopy system, be aware that their canopies do not allow a lot of clearance (in my opinion) to allow for much choice in lighting systems.

Second, do not assume that there will be access holes on the top of the tank for heaters or filter intakes/out takes; be sure to ask for a schematic of the tank top and ask them to drill in an extra hole or two if you think you may ever need them.

As for your question about the simplicity system, I seriously considered going for one. In the end I decided that the swimming space my fish would lose relative to the convenience of having the filter in the tank just didn't make sense for me. Unless your ceiling is very low, you should be able to set up a sump below your tank instead? The thought of having to clean out and/or ever retrofit a simplicity system somehow does not appeal to me.

Last edited:

chen88

Super Moderator
I'd be in for a tenecor tank if someone in the T.O. Area is looking to do a group buy!...I'd be more interested in a custom tank though...ie...48x48x30high.

Cirrus

Arowana blogger
On my first group import I brought in the same custom tank you are interested in Chen. It was purchased by a lady in the far north of BC who goes by "Ruth" on the Canreef forums. She ordered a center overflow for the tank. She told me she was going to grow out marine giant clams. :)